Faith RX’d – Fight With Praise

One of the most recent Faith Rx’d workout dealt with fighting with praise.  It is something that I have been trying to grasp lately and handle.  I am one who has believed that a lot of times fighting for my faith or fighting for Christ meant, proving that I was right and that someone who thought otherwise was wrong.  It meant that if I didn’t have all the answers for all the questions about my faith, then I wasn’t walking correctly.

But I have learned that it is not always my job to “know” everything.  My calling and my walk is to be Christlike.  My calling is to worship in the storm, to remain calm and praise Him even in the midst of struggle and turmoil.  It is not about having all the answers, but about being able to praise Him, even when the fight is raging on.

As I have matured, or hopefully matured (still a kid at heart), I have found that I do not have to convince someone to believe in Christ or not.  But I can always rest in who He is.  I can find peace in the chaos of life no matter who I am around or near when I choose first to praise and rest in His Grace.

I am friends with some who are not believers and some who are on the fence.  I have learned that their lifestyle choices and mine, do not always line up, but I cannot just walk away from them.  I have found that these relationships often push me more and more into an appreciation for my ability to praise Him in the storm.  I have a refuge from the storm and I know that nothing is thrown at me, that I cannot handle.

I do not have to fight the worldliness that exists.  I do not have to chase after financial riches because I know that I will be taken care of.  Even in the smallest of things, there is provisions and that is something that should always lead us to praise.

How hard is it for you to praise God, in the heart of the storm?  in a fight?

Leave a Reply

