Faith RX’d – Faith Workout

Decided that the Faith RX’d Workout for today resonated with me, so here are my thoughts…

READ

Romans 5:1-11

REFLECT

Peace is something we all desire – in our relationships, in our world, and in our own hearts.  It is what we seek, but what does it really mean?  And, how is it attained?  Biblical peace is defined as “the tranquil state of a soul assured of its salvation through Christ, and so fearing nothing from God and content with its earthly lot, of whatsoever sort that is” (Thayer).

So, our quest for peace is really a desire to be safe with our God.  It is a state of contentment that only comes from knowing how we stand with our God.  This week’s passage teaches the only true pathway to peace and contentment is through Christ.  “I am the way, and the truth, and the life.  No one comes to the Father except through me” (John 14:6)

RESPOND

1.   Do you feel at peace with God?

2.   What parts of your life still lack peace – family, friendships, work, school, etc.?

3.  What times of difficulty in your life have actually helped you seek peace with God?

“But the meek shall inherit the land and delight themselves in abundant peace. (Psalm 37:11-ESV)


 

The biggest thing that I felt am impact with is the idea and notion that we should feel at peace, no matter what is going on around us.  No matter what trials and obstacles sit in front of us, peace can be found within us.  As I have gone down the rabbit hole so to speak, it seems that the human body was designed to be at peace.  That we can lead healthier lives by keeping stress down (look up the impact of cortisol on the body).

Christ desires us to see the bigger picture and that is that all the chaos and things that keep us from finding peace are irrelevant and honestly, meaningless.  The drama at the office or even within your own family is not something that we should allow to take control of our lives and distract us from the Grace that is given to us.

As I read through the verses in Romans referenced above, the fact that there is a line that can be made from perseverance to hope is something that I really needed to hear and focus on today.  I struggle with many things and a lot of them simply come down to wanting to do everything right.  I want hard work to pay off, but I often want it to pay off immediately.  And many times it seems that it is going the opposite direction.

I lack the peace that comes with BELIEVING that perseverance can and will lead to hope.  That my job(s) and my job performance are irrelevant in the grand scheme of things.  I have a higher calling and part of that begins with demonstrating peace in the storm.  I am working on finding that peace despite my circumstances and not always having the results show up when I want them.

How do you find peace in the storm?

Leave a Reply

