Nothing is Wasted

A lot of times, I hear people talking about shifting their paradigms or changing the way that they look at the world.  There is this notion that the lens we look at the world through is broken or just flat out the wrong lens.  So I am taking a moment to offer the following “lens” to add to your bag.  I am going to offer up the following perspective and hope that it helps you out in some small way.  I have to admit that the inspiration for this was a Jason Gray song.  I give to you, The “Nothing is Wasted” lens…

Over the course of the past month, I have struggled with many battles.  I have stood beside my wife as she buried her Pappy.  I have felt my value decline in the office I work at.  I have struggled with the idea of why do I work so hard to turn around at the end of the week and feel like, I have nothing to give my family.  I have also had plenty of highs.  I have met new people, inspired new people to try new things.  Over the course of my life, I have battled depression and fought back the temptation of suicide.  I have almost lost my brother before he saw his first birthday and like many of my generation, I survived my parents divorce.  I have questioned my faith, questioned God, and been flat out mad at Him.

But then comes this song…by probably my favorite artist.  And it is simple, it is basic and it hits me every time I listen to it.  Nothing is wasted…in the hands of our redeemer.  So what?  What does that mean to you and me.  It means simply that.  It means nothing is wasted, when we put it in his hands.  It means that when we stop looking at things from the whoa is me state or how can God do this to me, and start looking at it from the TRUTH that nothing is wasted, we can find the strength to pull through.  The strength to trust and more importantly the truth that we are loved.

Nothing is wasted.  Nothing.  NOTHING.  In the hands of OUR Redeemer.  That means the divorce that hurt at age 10…is being used by God for a purpose, if I trust Him with it.  Pappy, while the pain is there, nothing is wasted.  We start to see the lessons Pappy taught us, or anyone that we have lost has taught us.  We start to realize that the pain we feel is because of the loss of something that was never ours to begin with.  That man, belonged to our Redeemer.  Those moments of failure as a husband or a father (or a wife or a mother) are not wasted in His hands.  When we can see those moments as meaningful and powerful we might just find the lesson that the Lord is trying to teach us.

And the biggest lesson that I can take from this is for that kid that was wanting to take his own life.  Nothing is wasted…in the hands of our redeemer.  That means your life (my life) is not a waste.  I am not a waste, no matter what depression sinks in.   Nothing is wasted…not even the parts of myself that I don’t like.  The parts that scare me, the parts that are hidden.  NOTHING is wasted in the hands of our Redeemer.  I do not know who out there struggles, but STOP putting everything on your shoulders…put them in the hands of the Redeemer…Nothing is wasted!

One thought on “Nothing is Wasted

Leave a Reply

