Do you Remember…

Do you remember the first time you met with the Lord?  I mean really remember what it felt like when you knew that He was real and not something that was talked about every Sunday in church. When the Lord became more than the feel-good story that was freedom from sin.  I want to know if you truly remember what it felt like the first time you felt a piece (or all) of you washed away for a moment and you truly rested in Him; rested in His grace, His love and all that He is.

I have been struggling the past few weeks, and today, I realized on my drive home that so much of what surrounds me is about the Lord, but is NOT Him.  So much of what drives us as believers, Christians, etc. are about us.  When is the last time you stop trying to analyze and figure Him out, and just rested with Him.  From the biggest mega-church to the smallest entity known as a believer, we are forgetting that it is not about us.

It is not about my comfort or about my grand revelation.  It is not about how much Scripture, I have memorized or about my expert ability to dsciple you into a soldier in the Lord’s army.  It is and always needs to be about Him.  When you worship, do you capture that moment you first believed.  When you attend your church or hold your meeting, do you feel His hand guiding you as it did when you first came to know Him as more than the icon on the cross?

If you think I am talking about you, I am.  I am talking about every believer (myself included).  We as a collective body have moved so far away from what community, faith and being a follower are all about that we debate who has figured it out the best.  We have ideas about how meetings should go and we direct groups to follow our way.  We look at ourselves and twist and contort every passage of Scripture we have read, as if it was written just to us and our circumstance.

We neglect the body of believers as a whole and we neglect the others that are walking with us.  We fill our hearts with things that look a lot like Christ, but are not the person of Christ.  We look to passages of the Bible and neglect the character and the man that was and is Jesus Christ.  We would rather utilize a passage from Scripture that makes our actions ok, and look past the example that was set before us in the man of Jesus Christ.

We want to build our lives and our meetings around other “people” that have been glorified by human eyes and lived a “Godly” life while we put the man that redeemed us on the back burner.  We strive for the latest program or purpose-driven ideology and neglect that our purpose is made clear and in the person of Jesus Christ.

7But whatever was to my profit I now consider loss for the sake of Christ. 8What is more, I consider everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them rubbish, that I may gain Christ 9and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which is through faith in Christ—the righteousness that comes from God and is by faith. 10I want to know Christ and the power of his resurrection and the fellowship of sharing in his sufferings, becoming like him in his death, 11and so, somehow, to attain to the resurrection from the dead.   ~Phillipians 3:7-11

That is what I want and what that means is that I must die.  My human intuition to try and predict where the Lord is leading me, must die.  My ideology about what the church looks like to human eyes must die.  Whatever thoughts, I have about how something should be done, must die.  Every layer must be stripped away and I must climb into the Lord’s lap and ask him to rebuild and re-create me.  I must die to my circumstances and quit using them as a crutch or some unrealistic reality that somehow because I have lived through hard times, the Lord has blessed me more than you.

The reward is the same for all, no matter when you came to know the Lord.  Can we please strive to recapture that sweet moment when we first came to know the Christ was real.  Can we put everything else aside and live in the reality that only Christ can renew your mind.  No amount of preaching or teaching can do that.

Can we simply follow Psalm 46:10

“Be still, and know that I am God;
I will be exalted among the nations,
I will be exalted in the earth.”

2 thoughts on “Do you Remember…

  1. “I hear you loud and clear and what wonderful thoughts here,I mean after all Jesus is our Saviour and we should put every thing else aside and focus on Him.” These are true words to ponder for sure! Numbers 6:24~26

  2. That is what I want and what that means is that I must die. My human intuition to try and predict where the Lord is leading me, must die. My ideology about what the church looks like to human eyes must die. Whatever thoughts, I have about how something should be done, must die. Every layer must be stripped away and I must climb into the Lord’s lap and ask him to rebuild and re-create me. I must die to my circumstances and quit using them as a crutch or some unrealistic reality that somehow because I have lived through hard times, the Lord has blessed me more than you

    – an amazing paragraph. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

