North! or Be Eaten by Andrew Peterson Book Review

I first came to know of Andrew Peterson as a songwriter.  My wife was a big fan and I soon became one too.  When I heard that he was starting to write books, I became intrigued.  When the opportunity arose for me to review his most recent book, I jumped at the opportunity.  I knew that I would not be disappointed.  I feared that my expectations would be too high and like a movie you wait a year to see, the book would not live up to expectations.  In all honesty, I was not prepared for the journey that Andrew would take me on in North! or Be Eaten.

In being honest with myself, I generally do not follow the fantasy genre, but I thoroughly enjoyed Andrew’s latest offering.  I found great enjoyment in how he allowed his reader to come along on this great journey.  Keeping in mind the target audience is young adults this book will find itself on many book shelves for the young and the young at heart.  The story moves at a pace that will not put one to sleep.  It is also written with enough imagination and description to aid the reader in placing themselves into the story.  The characters are enjoyable and are well-developed, even for someone who did not read the first book.  You can jump right into book two and you do not feel lost in the shuffle.

I will be passing this book along to my younger brother as he would love the series.  The book does a fantastic job of interweaving a great story with characters that have strong morals and good values.  I am very thankful that Mr. Peterson finds such delight in his children that he would put something together like this for them as well as his larger audience.

Here is a little more info on the book itself from the publisher:

Summary:

Janner, Tink, and Leeli Igiby thought they were normal children with normal lives and a normal past. But now they know they’re really the Lost Jewels of Anniera, heirs to a legendary kingdom across the sea, and suddenly everyone wants to kill them.

Their escape brings readers to the very brink of Fingap Falls, over the Stony Mountains, and across the Ice Prairies, while villains galore try to stop the Igibys permanently. Fearsome toothy cows and horned hounds return, along with new dangers: a mad man running a fork factory, a den of rockroaches, and majestic talking sea dragons.

Andrew Peterson’s lovable characters create what FantasyBookCritic.com says made Book One “one of the best fantasy novels in a very long time,” and Book Two contains even more thrills, exploring “themes universal in nature, ranging from the classic good versus evil, to the importance of family, and burdens of responsibility.”

Author bio.:

Andrew Peterson is the author of On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness, Book One in the Wingfeather Saga, and The Ballad of Matthew’s Begats. He’s also the critically-acclaimed singer-songwriter and recording artist of ten albums, including Resurrection Letters II. He and his wife, Jamie, live with their two sons and one daughter in a little house they call The Warren near Nashville, Tennessee. Visit his websites: www.andrew-peterson.com and www.rabbitroom.com

Leave a Reply

